Balance

As defined by the Merriam Webster Dictionary, balance is, “a state in which different things occurring equal or proper amounts or have an equal or proper amount of importance.” Obtaining balance in our lives is a constant thing we as women work on. As individuals we wear so many “hats.” Myself I struggle with balancing my roles as a wife, mother, teacher, sister, daughter, friend and aspiring entrepreneur. All while keeping my mind, body and spirituality balanced. At times it seems like a circus with so much ciaos. It is important not to become overwhelmed in any aspect of your life. I know that is not easy, but for me it means taking a second to stop, breathe, and appreciate the moment instead of dreading it.

My best example is rushing to work trying to make it on time, or hopefully a tad bit early! I have 18 middle school children waiting on me, 2 year old twins screaming in the background and my oldest telling me she has a project due that she forgotten about! In my mind I think “this day is doomed to be bad…where is my coffee…oh that’s right I left it on the kitchen counter”.

This is where I take a moment, stop, breathe and appreciate the fact that I have a job to go to, three wonderful children and many more that I teach! I make sure on those stressful days that I feel rushed that I take care of me and make sure I spend some time that day doing something for myself be it a short walk/run, read a book, journal, a trip to Starbucks, or sit in the car in the driveway with the radio off (you know we have all been there), but in that moment I find my balance in being thankful and appreciative of each and every moment, the good, the bad and the in-between.-E

One thought on “Balance

  1. TET

    Just when I think that I’m too busy to workout…I’m not that busy! I agree that it’s also great to stop and reflect on all of the blessings instead of seeing them as extra tasks and doing a little something for yourself.

    Like

Leave a Reply

