Thanks Mom

Train up a child in the way he should go: and when he is old, he will not depart from it. Proverbs 22:6

I had a great role model for an active life.  My mom lived an active lifestyle,  from weekends at different racquetball clubs, bicycle rides, family tennis matches on vacations, basketball games in the driveway to even coaching some of my teams.

20160507_203224

I’m so grateful that my mom was active because it lead me to live an active lifestyle too. On this Mother’s Day I wanted to say thanks.  Not for the normal things but for the active lifestyle she lead me to live.  There are so many life lessons one learns while playing sports and being active and I’m so appreciative.

Thanks mom for letting me be that “Tom Boy” that I was.  Thanks for encouraging me to get out and play.  Thanks for taking me to practice and games.  Thanks for sitting on the hard bleachers supporting me and being my number one cheerleader. Thanks for not “letting” me win.  It made me work harder and learn that you can’t always win.

Some of my biggest athletic achievements I remember are ones from home.  When I finally beat my Mom 1-on-1 in Basketball in the driveway.  Or, when I was finally faster then her when we raced from the garden to the backyard!  Little things that meant a lot but forever shaped my life.

I hope I’m still able to stay active like my mom as I get older.  She hit her first hole in one in golf last year (Whoop Whoop she’s awesome!) and continues to play tennis.  She even challenged me to a tennis match the next time we are together! Game on mom!

HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY!  Love you mom and thanks!

VP07b-Faith_sm web~R

One thought on “Thanks Mom

  1. Jeannie

    Thank you Dear Daughter,

    Dr. Seuss wrote, “Oh, the Places You’ll Go! I remind family and friends, ” Oh, the children we help grow.” Actions speak louder than words.

    Proud and Blessed Mom!
    Love You,
    Mom

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

