R-E-A-D

IMG_1064One of my favorite things to do is to find a good book, a quiet spot and read! You would not know this by my crazy life/schedule! It seems almost impossible to find time, but I make sure to make it, if it’s that ten minutes before bed or during my off block in the teachers lounge. This picture is of a few of my eclectic book collection and my bookmark, which is my favorite picture of my trio!

I remember in elementary school when we had D.E.A.R (Drop Everything And Read), which was taken from one of my favorite childhood authors Beverly Cleary in her Ramona Quimby books. We also had the Pizza Hut BOOK IT competitions, who didn’t love getting a free personal pizza just for reading?! These programs exist still today although today’s society is more technology driven. I literally have to fight to get my oldest daughter to read a book. The twins love to read and you can catch my son sitting in a corner “reading” to himself.

My friends and I at one point had an awesome book club we would choose a book, set up a time/place for brunch, have discussion questions and just enjoy one another’s company. This was good for my soul! Time with friends, good food and great conversations! WE WILL START THIS IN AUGUST LADIES, I’m giving you time to prepare!

Reading is such a great form of entertainment; I love how you can use your imagination as the author paints a vivid picture. Reading has many other benefits, some of which include….

  • Stress Relief
  • Mentally Stimulating
  • Gain New Information
  • Vocabulary Expansion
  • Memory Improvement
  • Improve Focus

Take some time today to D.E.A.R!

-E

Leave a Reply

