Summer Fun with my Littles

Two years ago my mother gave me the book The 5 Love Languages of Children by Dr. Gary Chapman & Dr. Ross Campbell. Before we got married and while in marriage counseling with our pastor I read The 5 Love Languages (adult version), it was very informative in understand how other people feel love/appreciation. This book has been great in understanding and knowing how to spend time with my littles.

With the summer right around the corner this means more times with my children! As a teacher I am never without kids, but during the summer I get to enjoy the ones that belong to me! I enjoy having the summer off and being able to do all sorts of fun things with them!

With an 11 yr. old and 2 yr. old boy/girl twins, they have very different “love languages”. My oldest is, my twin boy is and my twin girl is. I have to be creative with what we do during our summer vacation! My oldest will do one week of a sports summer camp where she can enjoy time with kids her age! For the twins I try to do lots of arts and crafts (they love to get messy…surprise….surprise).

This summer I decided to create a Summer Fun List or a list of things that we would/could do during the summer. Most of them are no/low cost and are really about just spending that quality time that we do not get to do during the school year. We all chipped in on creating our summer fun list, my oldest and I wrote the list and the twins added the colorful decoration! Some things that we have on our list include…

  • Visit a farmers market
  • Ride a bike
  • Have a picnic
  • Ice cream party
  • Painting party
  • Sidewalk chalk art
  • Visit a new playground
  • Set up a lemonade stand
  • Play with bubbles
  • Family game night
  • Library Reading program
  • Water Play Day
  • Zoo day
  • Children’s Museum Day
  • Kids plan dinner

These are just a few our total list is 102!!! We will not have a boring summer, because I am sure my littles will make us check off everything on this list! Summer 2016 here we come!

-E

 

2 thoughts on “Summer Fun with my Littles

Leave a Reply

